Loughton Astronomical Society


Having been a member of the Loughton Astronomical Society for several years I thought it was my turn to do my bit and took my place on the committee last year, this year I have taken on the role of Programming Officer. By organising one speaker it seemed I had implicitly positioned myself from taking over from Jerry Workman after his six year stint.

I haven’t done anything like this before, but my trepidation soon realised the possibilities of pursuing my interests in Space, there are plenty of amazing speakers more than willing to share they passion, and gratitude for working what for many would be a dream job.

We are very lucky in that we are close so close to London, QMWU, and UCL have provided us with some amazing speakers, Cambridge University isn’t too far away either, and we have had quite a few speakers from the Open University too.

My intention on joining the committee was to make use of some of the Web 2.0 tools now commonly used. The LAS has recently started the LAS Facebook group. At the moment I add events to the LAS web site, as well as Facebook, but I’ll have to brew up a little piece of Python to speed this along. I think the idea of adding pictures to the events helps a lot.

~ by zeristor on March 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
